Builder incentives compared: rate buydowns, closing costs, design credits

What Triangle builders are advertising right now to make homes more affordable, collected from builder promo pages and fine print (and, where marked, local agent reports quoting them). For context: Freddie Mac's 30-year fixed average was 7.32% for the week ending Oct 22, 2026 Freddie Mac PMMS.

Incentives are as advertised by builders and can change or end without notice. Confirm current terms, eligibility and lender requirements in writing with the builder and lender. Not financial advice; see our terms & disclaimer.

Incentives change often and come with conditions. Most require the builder's affiliated lender, apply only to select homes, expire within weeks, and cannot be combined with each other or with price negotiation. A 2/1 buydown returns to the full note rate in year 3, and an ARM can adjust after its fixed period. A buydown is paid for by the builder for the first years only; an ARM rate can change for the life of the loan. Blank cells mean the offer did not state that item. Always get the current offer sheet in writing and compare a Loan Estimate from an outside lender.

Advertised starting rates

Lowest advertised rate in each current offer that states one (n=13; expired offers left out). Year-1 rate for buydowns, initial rate for ARMs; dashed line is Freddie Mac's 30-yr fixed average (7.32%, week ending Oct 22, 2026). Lighter bars are unverified.

Builder / whereLowest advertised rateRate type / loansClosing cost $Design credit $Lender requiredExpiresPrice cuts / fine printSource
D.R. Horton
Eagle Creek, Fuquay-Varina (select homes)
2.99%2/1 temporary buydown (2.99% yr1, 3.99% yr2, 4.99% yrs 3–30) temporary buydown
FHA
After: Year 2: 3.99%; year 3 onward: 4.99% (per report).
$7,258.44
Incentive funds: buyer picks the buydown OR closing costs
Lender required DHI MortgageContract on/after 9/25/26; close by 11/30/26Listed price cuts e.g. $514,495 → $435,590 (164 Gilmer St)
Requires 0.375% discount point; not combinable with other D.R. Horton offers
source
third-party report (realtor blog quoting builder page); seen undated report citing the week of Oct 15, 2026; link re-checked Oct 28, 2026
Dream Finders Homes
Raleigh quick move-ins
2.99%Not stated (5.959% APR implies temporary/ARM) ARM (adjustable)
After: Rate type not stated (the 5.959% APR suggests a buydown or ARM); the later rate is not published.
Not statedSave up to $58,000 (e.g. Forestville Towns $359,900 tagged $58K)
Limited time; terms not shown on page
source
builder page; seen Oct 28, 2026
D.R. Horton
Kalas Falls, Wake Forest
3.875%5/1 ARM (fixed 5 yrs; caps 1%/1%/5%; max 8.875%) ARM (adjustable)
FHA, VA
After: Fixed 5 years, then adjusts yearly (caps 1%/1%/5%, max 8.875%); the later rate is not published.
Lender required DHI MortgageContract on/after 9/25/26; close by 12/31/26Markdowns e.g. $646,305 → $618,740source
third-party report (realtor blog quoting builder page); seen report dated Oct 15, 2026; link re-checked Oct 28, 2026
Mattamy Homes Ends soon (10/31)
Select Raleigh homes
3.99%2/1 temporary buydown (3.99% / 4.99% / 5.99% fixed) temporary buydown
Conventional (6.327% APR), FHA (6.784% APR), VA (6.371% APR)
After: Year 2: 4.99%; year 3 onward: 5.99%.

Seller pays about $9,419 toward the buydown (conventional example on a $472K home)
Lender required Mattamy Home Funding (affiliated); seller-selected closing agentContract 10/2/26-10/31/26; close by 11/30/26
Must pre-apply with affiliated lender before offer; owner-occupied; pool of funds
source
builder page; seen Oct 28, 2026
Stanley Martin Homes
Select Raleigh homes
3.99%2/1 temporary buydown (3.99% / 4.99% / 5.99%), 6.794% APR temporary buydown
FHA (example)
After: Year 2: 4.99%; year 3 onward: 5.99%.
Lender required First Heritage Mortgage (affiliated)Rate as of 10/8/26; no end date stated
Non-contingent new sales only; not combinable; not all neighborhoods
source
builder page; seen Oct 28, 2026
Pulte Homes Unverified Ends soon (10/31)
Select quick move-in homes, Raleigh area
4.25%7/6 ARM (fixed 7 yrs), 5.544% APR ARM (adjustable)
Conventional (20% down, 780 FICO example)
After: Adjusts after the fixed period; the later rate is not published.
Lender required Pulte MortgageContract after 8/21/26; locked and closed by 10/31/26
All incentives applied to closing costs incl. discount points; first come first served
source
builder flyer; link now returns 404 (unverified); seen Oct 28, 2026
Taylor Morrison Unverified Ends soon (11/01)
Select Raleigh quick move-ins
4.25%7/6 ARM ARM (adjustable)
After: Adjusts after the fixed period; the later rate is not published.
$5,000
Up to $5,000 toward closing costs/points/buydown
Lender required Taylor Morrison Home Funding; seller-selected closing agentContracts 10/19/26-11/1/26; close by 12/31/26source
search snippet (page did not load for us; unverified); seen Oct 28, 2026
M/I Homes
Triangle (qualifying new contracts)
4.875%7/6 ARM, 5.749% APR ARM (adjustable)
Conventional, 20% down, 720 FICO
After: Adjusts after the fixed period; the later rate is not published.

Up to 2% allowable closing costs (from earlier snippet; unverified)
Lender required M/I FinancialContracts Oct 14 - Nov 8, 2026 (builder page)
Earlier search snippet also said close by 12/18/26 and apply within 48 hours of contract; not shown on the current page (unverified)
source
builder page; seen Oct 28, 2026
D.R. Horton
Select NC communities (Eagle Creek, Kalas Falls)
4.99%Fixed (special rate); conventional 5.50% (5.939% APR) fixed
FHA 4.99% (5.697% APR, 3.5% down); conventional 5.50% (5% down)
Lender required DHI MortgageContract on/after 10/5/26; close by 12/31/26
May require borrower-paid points; pool-funded, ends when funds depleted
source
third-party report (realtor blog quoting builder page); seen report dated Oct 15, 2026; link re-checked Oct 28, 2026
Smith Douglas Homes
Raleigh Division (select inventory and pre-sale)
4.99%5/1 ARM ARM (adjustable)
After: Adjusts after the fixed period; the later rate is not published.
$10,000
Up to $10,000 closing cost assistance

50% off non-structural design options (combined cap $10,000 with closing costs)
Lender required Ridgeland Mortgage (preferred) + builder title/closing attorneyContracts by 11/16/26
Up to $10,000 total discount; design deposit still required
source
builder page; seen Oct 28, 2026
Eastwood Homes
Raleigh division (select completed homes)
4.99%'As low as' fixed; some rates use 2/1 temporary buydown buydown or fixed (varies)
FHA/VA (680 FICO), conventional (740)
After: Some rates use a 2/1 buydown; which homes and the later rate are not published.
Lender required Sabal MortgageLoan closes by 12/1/26
Full list price only; must qualify at full note rate
source
third-party report; seen report dated Oct 15, 2026; link re-checked Oct 28, 2026
Davidson Homes
Sage on North Main, Rockport
4.99%'As low as' (6.278% APR) type not stated
After: Rate type and later rate not published.

Plus 'Flex Cash' (amount not stated)
Not statedsource
third-party report; seen report dated Oct 15, 2026; link re-checked Oct 28, 2026
Homes by Dickerson
Lowery Estates, Thompson Mill Road
5.8%Fixed fixedLender required Twin State Lending + preferred closing attorneyContract within 30 days, close within 60 dayssource
third-party report (no date on builder page); seen report dated Oct 15, 2026; link re-checked Oct 28, 2026
Pulte Homes
Everton, Durham (QMI)
$15,000
Up to $15,000 'to use as you choose'
Not stated
Plus $2,000 Hometown Heroes incentive (teachers, nurses, EMS, police, fire, military)
source
builder page; seen Oct 28, 2026
Tri Pointe Homes
Pines Collection at Altis at Serenity, Fuquay-Varina (55+)
$10,000
Up to $10,000 non-recurring closing costs
$25,000
$25,000 off design studio when you spend at least $50,000
Lender required Tri Pointe Connect (affiliated)Contracts 10/1/26-12/31/26 at list price
Under-construction homes; 25% deposit on options; unused credit forfeited
source
builder page; seen Oct 28, 2026
Tri Pointe Homes Unverified
Raleigh promotions (varies by community)
$10,000
Up to $10,000 builder-paid closing costs; up to $30,000 total savings in some communities

Design studio credit in some communities; special-rate offer at Mews at Holding Village
Not statedsource
search snippet (not confirmed on the page; unverified); seen Oct 28, 2026
David Weekley Homes Ends soon (10/31)
Serenity, Fuquay-Varina (to-be-built)
$15,000
50% off Design Center selections, up to $15,000 (Village/Park), $10,000 (Cottage)
Not statedPurchases 9/1/26-10/31/26
Not valid with other offers; no cash in lieu
source
builder page; seen Oct 28, 2026
Lennar
Raleigh (select homes)

Rate buydowns and closing cost assistance on select homes (amounts not stated)
Lender required Lennar Mortgage (for buydown/closing-cost incentives)Fall Super Sale savings on select homes. An earlier example (Montage West Townes $334,990, tagged $48.4K savings) could not be re-verified and Montage West Townes is not in our community list.
Lennar Mortgage optional to buy, required for incentives
source
builder page; seen Oct 28, 2026

Click a column to sort (blanks always sort last). "Lowest advertised rate" is the year-1 rate for temporary buydowns and the initial rate for ARMs, so it is not comparable to a 30-year fixed rate on its own. Look at the rate type.

Badges: Ends soon = ends within 7 days of Oct 28, 2026. Unverified = the source link is dead, or the terms come only from a search snippet; confirm with the builder. Lender required = the offer requires the builder's affiliated lender.

Recently expired

Shown for context only. These offers have ended and are not in the chart or the calculator.

Builder / whereRateRate type / loansClosing cost $Design credit $Lender requiredExpiredFine printSource
Ashton Woods Expired
Crescent Mills, Middleton Farms, Preserve & Palisade at The Point (select QMIs)
2.99%2/1 temporary buydown (2.99% / 3.99% / 4.99%), APR 5.275% temporary buydown
FHA, VA
After: Year 2: 3.99%; year 3 onward: 4.99%.
The fine print says "8.125% points paid by seller". It does not say what that is a percentage of. It most likely means the seller pays discount points to buy the rate down, but the page does not explain it, so treat it as unclear and ask the builder.
$5,000
Up to $5,000 closing costs
Lender required Velocio Mortgage (affiliated)Fine print: contracts 2/26/26-3/31/26, close by 5/31/26
640 min FICO; not combinable with any other promotion or negotiation
source
builder page (fine print dates look stale); seen Oct 28, 2026
Ashton Woods Expired
Rowland's Grant, Fuquay-Varina
$40,000
Up to $40,000 'use as you choose' (price, closing, buydown, design)
Lender required Trailblazer Mortgage (per report)Contracts 9/29/26-10/7/26, close by 11/1/26
Select QMIs; not combinable with negotiation
source
third-party report; seen undated report citing the week of Oct 15, 2026; link re-checked Oct 28, 2026
Toll Brothers Expired
Raleigh communities
Not statedNational Sales Event ended 10/18/26
Incentives varied by community; none stated
source
search snippet; seen Oct 28, 2026

No current advertised incentive found

30 builders: Adams Homes, America's Home Place, Ashton Woods, Beazer Homes, Beechwood Homes, Caruso Homes, Caviness & Cates Communities, Centex, Century Complete (Century Communities), Chesapeake Homes, DRB Homes (Dan Ryan Builders), Del Webb, Drees Homes, Garman Homes, HHHunt Homes, JSJ Builders, KB Home, LGI Homes, McKee Homes, Meritage Homes, Mungo Homes, National Home Corporation, New Home Inc., Robuck Homes, Ryan Homes, Starlight Homes, Toll Brothers, True Homes, Upright Builders, Wagoner Homes. That only means we did not find a published offer. Many builders negotiate privately, so ask.