Data compiled Oct 31, 2026 · public sources only
New construction homes under $400K in the Triangle
Short answer
As of our Oct 31, 2026 data, 85 of 121 priced, not-sold-out Triangle communities we track list a starting price under $400K, across 32 builders. The most are in Clayton, Lillington, Garner, Durham, Fuquay-Varina, Benson. Prices are the builders' published "from" prices, which are not what every home costs; HOA dues and property-tax rates are shown so you can compare the monthly cost. 3 price(s) are flagged unverified.
| Community | Town | Builder | From | Quick move-ins | HOA/mo | Tax rate per $100 | Schools | Builder survey score | Current incentive |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| The Townes at Cape Overlook | Lillington | Smith Douglas Homes | $193,900 source | — | Not published | 1.2100 | Harnett | none found | Up to $10,000 closing cost assistance |
| Townes at North Main | Lillington | Davidson Homes | $213,000 source | 3 · from $224,000 | $69 | 1.2100 | Harnett | none found | 'As low as' (6.278% APR) |
| Powell | Angier | Mattamy Homes | $236,900 source | 6 · from $233,604 | Not published | 0.7400 | Harnett | none found | — |
| Vaughan Farms | Angier | Mattamy Homes | $238,900 source | 9 · from $247,202 | Not published | 0.7400 | Harnett | none found | — |
| Milton | Lillington | New Home Inc. | $249,700 source | 13 · from $249,700 | Not published | 1.2100 | Harnett | none found | — |
| Masons Mill | Erwin | True Homes | $249,900 source | — | Not published | 1.1300 | Harnett | none found | — |
| Stonebarrow | Lillington | Mattamy Homes | $254,900 source | 3 · from $292,065 | Not published | 1.2100 | Harnett | none found | — |
| Medley Park | Clayton | LGI Homes | $257,900 source | — | Not published | 1.0000 | Johnston (JCPS) | 3.8/5 NewHomeSource TrustBuilder | — |
| Wilson's Walk | Clayton | Starlight Homes | $259,990 source | 3 · from $249,990 | Not published | 1.0000 | Johnston (JCPS) | none found | — |
| Marelli - Venture Collection (townhomes) | Sanford | Lennar | $261,990 source | 4 · from $309,990 | $134 | 1.2050 | Lee | 3.9/5 NewHomeSource TrustBuilder | Rate buydowns and closing cost assistance on select homes (amounts not stated) |
| The Towns at North Lakes | Fuquay-Varina | Dream Finders Homes | $269,900 source | 9 · from $289,900 | Not published | 0.9151 | Wake (WCPSS) | none found | 2/1 temporary buydown (2.99% yr 1, 3.99% yr 2), FHA example, 5.959% APR |
| Rollman Farms Townhomes | Garner | Ryan Homes | $269,990 source | — | Not published | 1.0721 | Wake (WCPSS) | none found | — |
| Towns at The Point | Rolesville | Ashton Woods | $274,990 source | 3 · from $269,990 | Not published | 0.9371 | Wake (WCPSS) | none found | — |
| Parker Ridge Townes - Designer Collection | Rolesville | Lennar | $276,990 source | — | $200 (period not stated; unverified) | 0.9371 | Wake (WCPSS) | 3.9/5 NewHomeSource TrustBuilder | Rate buydowns and closing cost assistance on select homes (amounts not stated) |
| Griffin Farm Townes | Pittsboro | Ryan Homes | $279,990 source | — | Not published | 1.0400 | Chatham | none found | — |
| West Pointe | Sanford | Century Complete (Century Communities) | $283,888 source | 9 · from $283,888 | Not published | 1.2050 | Lee | none found | — |
| Alder Creek | Benson | Smith Douglas Homes | $284,900 source | 6 · from $318,990 | Not published | 1.1200 | Johnston (JCPS) | none found | Up to $10,000 closing cost assistance |
| Oakwood Townes | Mebane | Meritage Homes | $289,000 source | 8 · from $251,920 | Not published | 1.0505 | Orange County Schools | 4.7/5 Avid Ratings | — |
| Kipling Village | Fuquay-Varina | Ryan Homes | $289,990 source | — | Not published | 0.9151 | Wake (WCPSS) | none found | — |
| Fox Field Farms | Broadway | Mattamy Homes | $293,900 source | 2 · from $309,426 | Not published | 1.1400 | Lee | none found | — |
| Carpenter Falls | Durham | Centex | $296,990 source | 15 · from $249,990 | Not published | 1.0163 | Durham (DPS) | 4.4/5 NewHomeSource TrustBuilder | — |
| Goldston Fields | Bear Creek | Smith Douglas Homes | $298,990 source | 2 · from $401,990 | Not published | 0.6000 | Chatham | none found | Up to $10,000 closing cost assistance |
| Aster Ridge | Durham | KB Home | $299,377 source | — | Not published | 1.0163 | Durham (DPS) | 4.4/5 NewHomeSource TrustBuilder | 5/1 FHA ARM, 5.781% APR ("rates as low as") |
| Kennebec Crossing (townhomes) | Angier | Robuck Homes | $299,500 source | 5 · from $415,800 | Not published | 0.7400 | Harnett | 4.5/5 Avid Ratings | — |
| Overlook at Stoney Creek - Designer Collection | Garner | Lennar | $299,990 source | — | $190 | 1.0721 | Wake (WCPSS) | 3.9/5 NewHomeSource TrustBuilder | Rate buydowns and closing cost assistance on select homes (amounts not stated) |
| Hawley Glen | Lillington | D.R. Horton | $299,990 source | 3 · from $320,990 | Not published | 1.2100 | Harnett | none found | Incentive funds: buyer picks the buydown OR closing costs |
| Seagrass Landing | Lillington | Mattamy Homes | $301,900 source | 4 · from $345,483 | Not published | 1.2100 | Harnett | none found | — |
| Arbor Glen | Sanford | Smith Douglas Homes | $301,990 source | 6 · from $344,990 | Not published | 1.2050 | Lee | none found | Up to $10,000 closing cost assistance |
| Laurel Oaks | Sanford | D.R. Horton | $302,990 source | 11 · from $293,650 | Not published | 1.2050 | Lee | none found | Incentive funds: buyer picks the buydown OR closing costs |
| Wilson's Ridge | Wilson's Mills | D.R. Horton | $304,490 source | 10 · from $304,349 | Not published | 1.0100 | Johnston (JCPS) | none found | Incentive funds: buyer picks the buydown OR closing costs |
| Southern Estates | Sanford | Adams Homes | $304,900 source | 14 | Not published | 1.2050 | Lee | none found | — |
| White Oak Creek Crossing | Angier | True Homes | $305,900 source | — | Not published | 0.7400 | Harnett | none found | — |
| Eagle's Landing | Benson | National Home Corporation | $306,990 source | 18 · from $301,990 | Not published | 1.1200 | Johnston (JCPS) | none found | — |
| Duncan's Creek | Lillington | New Home Inc. | $309,700 source | 9 · from $339,700 | Not published | 1.2100 | Harnett | none found | — |
| Emily Gardens | Selma | Caviness & Cates Communities | $309,900 source | 7 · from $309,900 | Not published | 1.1100 | Johnston (JCPS) | 4.2/5 Avid Ratings | — |
| Liberty Creek | Smithfield | Smith Douglas Homes | $310,990 source | 6 · from $323,990 | Not published | 0.9600 | Johnston (JCPS) | none found | Up to $10,000 closing cost assistance |
| Finley Landing | Smithfield | Lennar | $311,545 source | 3 · from $314,990 | $50 (period not stated; unverified) | 0.9600 | Johnston (JCPS) | 3.9/5 NewHomeSource TrustBuilder | Rate buydowns and closing cost assistance on select homes (amounts not stated) |
| Benson Village | Benson | True Homes | $319,900 source | — | Not published | 1.1200 | Johnston (JCPS) | none found | — |
| Buffalo Townes | Garner | Taylor Morrison | $320,000 source | 9 · from $299,999 | $155 (period not stated; unverified) | 1.0721 | Wake (WCPSS) | none found | — |
| Mews at Holding Village | Wake Forest | Tri Pointe Homes | $320,990 source | 5 · from $324,990 | $210 | 0.9571 | Wake (WCPSS) | none found | Up to $10,000 non-recurring closing costs |
| River Glen | Angier | Meritage Homes | $324,000 source | — | Not published | 0.7400 | Harnett | 4.7/5 Avid Ratings | — |
| The Preserve at Marks Creek | Knightdale | Garman Homes | $324,990 source | 5 · from $324,990 | $110 | 0.9771 | Wake (WCPSS) | 4.5/5 GuildQuality | — |
| North District at Flowers Plantation (townhomes) | Clayton | True Homes | $329,900 source | — | Not published | 1.0000 | Johnston (JCPS) | none found | — |
| Ponder | Wendell | Garman Homes | $330,990 source | 5 · from $354,000 | $133 | — | — | 4.5/5 GuildQuality | — |
| Crescent Mills | Clayton | Starlight Homes | $332,990 source | 7 · from $323,990 | Not published | 1.0000 | Johnston (JCPS) | none found | — |
| Copper Run South | Durham | D.R. Horton | $333,190 source | 1 · from $325,700 | Not published | 1.0163 | Durham (DPS) | none found | Incentive funds: buyer picks the buydown OR closing costs |
| Carolina Overlook (55+) | Clayton | Del Webb | $336,990 source | 10 · from $343,990 | Not published | 1.0000 | Johnston (JCPS) | 4.1/5 NewHomeSource TrustBuilder | — |
| Providence Creek | Fuquay-Varina | Mattamy Homes | $338,900 source | 6 · from $353,694 | Not published | 0.9151 | Wake (WCPSS) | none found | — |
| Daniel Farms | Benson | Eastwood Homes | $338,900 source | — | Not published | 1.1200 | Johnston (JCPS) | none found | 'As low as' fixed; some rates use 2/1 temporary buydown |
| Wendell Falls | Wendell | Garman Homes | $339,890 source | 9 · from $339,890 | $195 | 0.9571 | Wake (WCPSS) | 4.5/5 GuildQuality | — |
| Black Forest Pointe | Benson | Eastwood Homes | $339,900 source | — | Not published | 1.1200 | Johnston (JCPS) | none found | 'As low as' fixed; some rates use 2/1 temporary buydown |
| Forestville Towns | Wake Forest | Dream Finders Homes | $339,900 source | 7 · from $359,900 | Not published | 0.9571 | Wake (WCPSS) | none found | 2/1 temporary buydown (2.99% yr 1, 3.99% yr 2), FHA example, 5.959% APR |
| Forestville Station | Wake Forest | Taylor Morrison | $339,999 source | 12 · from $299,999 | $160 (period not stated; unverified) | 0.9571 | Wake (WCPSS) | none found | — |
| The Knoll at White Oak | Garner | McKee Homes | $341,000 source | 11 · from $341,000 | Not published | 1.0721 | Wake (WCPSS) | none found | — |
| Allen Park | Raleigh | Garman Homes | $346,000 source | 9 · from $350,000 | $155 | — | — | 4.5/5 GuildQuality | — |
| The Walk at East Village | Clayton | McKee Homes | $348,990 source | 6 · from $378,260 | Not published | 1.0000 | Johnston (JCPS) | none found | — |
| South Lake Townes at Flowers Plantation | Clayton | Caruso Homes | $349,900 source | 7 | Not published | 1.0000 | Johnston (JCPS) | none found | — |
| Lawson Glen | Clayton | D.R. Horton | $351,490 source | 8 · from $352,440 | Not published | 1.0000 | Johnston (JCPS) | none found | Incentive funds: buyer picks the buydown OR closing costs |
| Cheshire | Smithfield | Smith Douglas Homes | $351,990 source | 5 · from $349,990 | Not published | 0.9600 | Johnston (JCPS) | none found | Up to $10,000 closing cost assistance |
| Swift Creek Farm | Clayton | D.R. Horton | $352,900 source | 6 · from $344,990 | Not published | 1.0000 | Johnston (JCPS) | none found | Incentive funds: buyer picks the buydown OR closing costs |
| Exchange at 401 price unverified | Raleigh | Pulte Homes | $352,990 source | 8 · from $336,990 | Not published | 0.9091 | Wake (WCPSS) | 3.9/5 NewHomeSource TrustBuilder | — |
| Griffin Place | Durham | Ryan Homes | $356,490 source | — | Not published | 1.0163 | Durham (DPS) | none found | — |
| Olive Branch | Clayton | D.R. Horton | $358,900 source | 4 · from $376,190 | Not published | 1.0100 | Johnston (JCPS) | none found | Incentive funds: buyer picks the buydown OR closing costs |
| Bloom | Fuquay-Varina | Mattamy Homes | $364,900 source | 2 · from $437,581 | Not published | 0.9151 | Wake (WCPSS) | none found | — |
| Helmsley | Raleigh | Smith Douglas Homes | $366,990 source | 6 · from $366,990 | Not published | 0.9091 | Wake (WCPSS) | none found | Up to $10,000 closing cost assistance |
| The Point | Rolesville | Ashton Woods | $368,990 source | 9 · from $369,990 | Not published | 0.9371 | Wake (WCPSS) | none found | — |
| Clarabella | Fuquay-Varina | Mattamy Homes | $369,900 source | 2 · from $453,505 | Not published | 0.9151 | Wake (WCPSS) | none found | — |
| Ford Meadows | Garner | Eastwood Homes | $369,900 source | — | $65 | 1.0721 | Wake (WCPSS) | none found | 'As low as' fixed; some rates use 2/1 temporary buydown |
| Highgate | Clayton | Chesapeake Homes | $369,900 source | 4 · from $379,900 | Not published | 1.0000 | Johnston (JCPS) | none found | — |
| Country Lane - Classic Series | Clayton | Meritage Homes | $372,000 source | 9 · from $316,000 | Not published | 1.0000 | Johnston (JCPS) | 4.7/5 Avid Ratings | — |
| Copper Ridge at Flowers Plantation | Clayton | True Homes | $374,900 source | — | Not published | 1.0000 | Johnston (JCPS) | none found | — |
| Golden Trace - Cottage Collection | Garner | Lennar | $374,990 source | 4 · from $374,990 | $146 | 1.0721 | Wake (WCPSS) | 3.9/5 NewHomeSource TrustBuilder | Rate buydowns and closing cost assistance on select homes (amounts not stated) |
| Cameron Crossing | Dunn | Dream Finders Homes | $374,990 source | 11 · from $364,500 | Not published | 1.1700 | Harnett | none found | 2/1 temporary buydown (2.99% yr 1, 3.99% yr 2), FHA example, 5.959% APR |
| Alder Creek | Benson | McKee Homes | $378,990 source | 3 · from $399,000 | Not published | 1.1200 | Johnston (JCPS) | none found | — |
| Overlook at Stoney Creek - Club Collection | Garner | Lennar | $379,990 source | 3 · from $359,990 | $190 | 1.0721 | Wake (WCPSS) | 3.9/5 NewHomeSource TrustBuilder | Rate buydowns and closing cost assistance on select homes (amounts not stated) |
| NoVi at Chatham Park | Pittsboro | Homes by Dickerson | $383,500 source | 4 · from $472,000 | Not published | 1.0400 | Chatham | 4.5/5 GuildQuality | Fixed |
| Running Brook Townes | Durham | Eastwood Homes | $384,251 source | — | $150 | 1.0163 | Durham (DPS) | none found | 'As low as' fixed; some rates use 2/1 temporary buydown |
| Tucker Place | Raleigh | KB Home | $389,990 source | — | Not published | 0.9091 | Wake (WCPSS) | 4.4/5 NewHomeSource TrustBuilder | 5/1 FHA ARM, 5.781% APR ("rates as low as") |
| Avalon Place - Classic Series | Durham | Meritage Homes | $390,000 source | 10 · from $364,000 | Not published | 1.0163 | Durham (DPS) | 4.7/5 Avid Ratings | — |
| Wesley Downs - Hanover Collection | Durham | Lennar | $390,990 source | 6 · from $399,990 | $117 | 1.0163 | Durham (DPS) | 3.9/5 NewHomeSource TrustBuilder | Rate buydowns and closing cost assistance on select homes (amounts not stated) |
| Regency at Auburn Station - Discovery | Raleigh | Toll Brothers | $391,995 source | 3 · from $399,000 | Not published | 0.9091 | Wake (WCPSS) | none found | 30-year fixed, 5.76% APR (select homes) |
| The Grove Collection at Serenity | Fuquay-Varina | Tri Pointe Homes | $397,990 source | 6 · from $424,990 | $245 | 0.9151 | Wake (WCPSS) | none found | Up to $10,000 non-recurring closing costs |
| Everlee - Summit Collection | Raleigh | Lennar | $398,990 source | 10 · from $399,990 | $105 (period not stated; unverified) | 0.9091 | Wake (WCPSS) | 3.9/5 NewHomeSource TrustBuilder | Rate buydowns and closing cost assistance on select homes (amounts not stated) |
| South Creek | Chapel Hill | Beechwood Homes | $399,000 source | — | Not published | 1.3284 | Chapel Hill-Carrboro (CHCCS) | none found | — |
| Eagles Landing | Lillington | New Home Inc. | $399,700 source | 6 · from $449,700 | $42 | 1.2100 | Harnett | none found | — |
Sold-out communities are left out. "From" prices come from the cited source and change often.
Related: monthly cost calculator · incentives · HOA fees & taxes · Wake vs Johnston · under $300K · under $500K · most affordable builders
Questions answered from our data
Can you still find new construction under $400K near Raleigh?
Yes. In our Oct 31, 2026 data, 85 Triangle communities from 32 builders list a starting price under $400K; the lowest is The Townes at Cape Overlook in Lillington by Smith Douglas Homes from $193,900. Availability changes weekly.
Which towns have the most new homes under $400K in the Triangle?
By community count in our data: Clayton (13), Lillington (8), Garner (7), Durham (7), Fuquay-Varina (6), Benson (6).
Are there new construction townhomes under $400K?
Our data has no home-type field, so we can't filter townhomes reliably. Some communities have 'Townhomes' or 'Townes' in their name; check the builder page for the home type.
Does the starting price include HOA dues and property taxes?
No. The 'from' price is the base price. HOA dues and the combined county and town tax rate (per $100 of assessed value) are listed separately where published; a dash or 'Not published' means we could not find them.
Are quick move-in homes cheaper?
Sometimes. 62 of these communities have a published quick move-in price; compare it to the 'from' price in the table, and ask whether incentives differ for quick move-ins.
Compiled from cited public sources as of Oct 31, 2026 and provided as-is; details change often. Verify prices, incentives and warranty terms with the builder and your lender. Not financial or legal advice. See our terms & disclaimer and methodology.